Can you use GameLift without Lumberyard?

Many of the users of the game service formerly known as Player.io (now Yahoo Game Network) are looking for a new home. Yahoo is shutting down their Yahoo Games Portal, so we assume the back end service they provide will be shut-down also. Player.IO supports Flash and Unity games currently. Any chance we could use the GameLift backend without using Lumberyard? Many of us have years invested in our products and are generating decent revenue from them.

Agreed, the AWS service by itself is so valuable to developers. There’s such a big gaping hole for backend services in game dev. Being an indie dev, I was so so so happy to read the announcement.

I would like to know if GameLift will be usable with Unity specifically? And I hope the answer is a resounding yes. The supply of game engines isn’t nearly as abundant as the supply of networking services for games. Especially since Lumberyard doesn’t currently support mobile platforms yet (and its support for 2D games is still up in air), there’s a big group of devs who’s going to be denied this service and a hole bunch of great games canceled…

They will probably try to support as many engines as possible. The engine is bait after all to use it.

I think the answer is yes. Looks like any other AWS service.

Is there hope of getting an official reply? @ly-admin

http://aws.amazon.com/gamelift/faq/

Q. Can I use the Amazon GameLift with any game engine?
Amazon GameLift currently only supports the Amazon Lumberyard engine.”

I can’t imagine them NOT (eventually) providing wrappers / alternatives to GameLift API so that it is available to Unity and UE4. It would be silly not to given the business model. Silly.

LY exists to sell AWS, not the other way around. GameLift, in my mind, is fundamentally not a LY technology. It may first be exposed and made available to LY as a Gem, but it should be available to all engines, just as the underlying AWS services are.