Early Impressions of Lumberyard's New Support for OpenVR

I am currently developing with the HTC Vive as a proxy for next year’s VR headsets, controllers, and tracking. After some teething pains, I have successfully configured and compiled the OpenVR Gem for SamplesProject in the v1.3 beta release. I am a newbie to Lumberyard, but my initial experience with OpenVR-Vive has not been especially positive. As hopefully constructive feedback, here are some early issues I’ve encountered - in order from less important to more important:

• Installing Gems can be a bit frustrating for those new to Lumberyard and WAF, partly due to lack of “getting started” documentation for a critical command line compile step needed after changes in Project Configurator and partly due to uncertainty about the significance of unexpected warnings. I was mildly surprised to find that enabling the OpenVR Gem for SamplesProject requires half an hour of compile and link.

• When the OpenVR Gem is enabled for a project, the displays in the Vive headset light up as soon as the Lumberyard editor is started and they remain lighted during the Lumberyard session regardless of whether any content is viewed in VR mode. This behavior could be somewhat problematic for headset lifetime and fixed pattern burn-in.

• The OpenVR Gem has apparently initially been delivered without a VR-optimized sample project. The included samples exhibit aliasing that results in unstable and distracting non-eye-matched object edges at range, and include “background” star fields that stereo fuse at an apparent surface distance from the eyes of about 30 inches.

-The key current issue, though, is what appears to be substantial head-to-photon latency for even the simplest scenes. Lumberyard’s VR projections adapt and render as expected for very slow head movement, but the geometry swims with rapid head movement. Such latency would not be competitive with other game engines for typical applications in gaming or walk-around VR.