Engine_GPUMemory_Testing/How do YOU debug?

Greetings my forum peoples. I’m an Indie developer and a QA Engineer. I’m thinking of migrating my Unity game over to Lumberyard. I wanted to maybe start a constructive thread for performance issues and ways to debug them. I’ve used Visual Studio for a lot of my debugging as it’s pretty easy to use (Just attach :slight_smile:). The idea is to list a relatively common issue around performance and provide some ways to debug them to find the cause. Ill start us off with two of the most common performance issues that I’ve seen in probably 9/10 titles. I’ve tested well over 50-100 titles in the past 6+years I’ve been testing. Not to mention the ones I’ve encountered as an avid gamer. To start this shindig off, I’ll name Out of Memory Stability and Memory Leaks. Also, ill be attaching some slides with screenshots of Visual Studio Diagnostic tools using Lumberyard as an example. It will contain: Launching the editor, creating a level, generating terrain mesh, creating an entity, and assigning a mesh component.

Out of Memory Stability Issues:
-Performing an action when too many GPU allocations are being made to the heap without a returned to the platform. This can cause the software to:
-'Soft Lock" or become unresponsive.
-“Chug” or perform very slowly.
-Crash and possibly cause a loss of data.