[gamelift realtime server] - RangeError: Max payload size exceeded

Hi,

I am using AWS gamelift realtime server (NodeJS) for my server backend.
I recently noticed a limitation of the size of the WebSocket packet of around 4KB.

When a client do send a packet reaching that limit, the WS library sends a RangeError, Max payload size exceeded. This error bubbles until it becomes a Process uncaught Exception
This error is then caught by gamelift.js to log the error Realtime server crashed due to: process.uncaughtException, but then exits.

Is there any way I can recover from the error and not exits my server ? I tried to adds another process.on('uncaughtException but it does not seems to be called.

I wish I was able to discard the message.
Also, I am not a security expert, but it seems to me to be a vector of DOS attack.

For the record, I have been able to catch the error using process.setUncaughtExceptionCaptureCallback.

Still the socket becomes unusable without the client to be noticed, but at least other clients are not affected.

Hi @maxired ,

Thanks for bringing this up to us, I will cut a ticket to investigate this issue. It’ll be great if you can provide a datapoint on what’s your preferred way of solving this issue, e.g. log then ignore the error? invoke a callback to the server process?

For now, to unblock yourself, could you potentially limit the size of the payload on the client-side?

P50353516

EDIT:

Are you by any chance testing websocket connection without using the realtime client sdk? Asking because the client SDK should have rejected payload with size greater than 4KB. (See maxReliableMessageBytes in Client.cs)

Hi @JamesM_Aws, thanks for your answer.

yes I will try to split my message so it does not reach this size.
I am indeed not using the realtime client SDK, as I am working on a web application.