If you want Lumberyard to succeed you need to get your act together

I am a Unity developer and am desperate to find an alternative engine and Lumberyard seemed like a good choice to try out for me to jump ship. Putting aside the 10G download the initial user experience is terrible. I’ve been waiting for an hour now for the asset processor to do it;s thing and it’s only on job 1071 out of 2149! This is after it’s crashed once and left itself in the background in a zombie state. Not cool to have to Ctrl Alt Del in the first session of trying out your wares.

Asset loading should never take this long, what are you guys thinking when you write code and think it’s ok for your end user to be sat watching the hourglass for such a long time. I’m watching the task manager and asset processor_tmp.exe is using about 3.7% of CPU and lumberyardLauncher.exe about 5-18% Disk about 3-10% Memory 20% so what is taking your asset importer so long? Use my hardware FFS!

I’m going to stick with it for now because I really want you guys to succeed. but come on, when writing code try it out from the end users first experience POV and ask yourself the question is this really giving the best experience for a developer as it should. It’s never cool to sit watching the hourglass, it’s usually and indication of poor programming especially with the power of todays machines!

I don’t see the comparison. In the Unity Editor, a refresh of my assets for a 36GB project, is still long hours of staring at a green bar and waiting. With Lumberyard at least I get a fancy window and a detailed breakdown of whats left to do and what it is currently working on.

In either engine, initial setup of a Project is legnthy.

@Arkon9,

I’m sorry that things aren’t going smoothly, but grateful that you took the time to post about it.