Key to Success with Lumberyard - Documentation

Hello Lumbernauts!

For this month’s Dev Diary, I would like to introduce Mike Cronin, our Program Writer on the Documentation team! See below for his Dev Diary.

Hello Lumbernauts!

My name is Mike Cronin and I am a programmer writer with the Lumberyard Documentation team. My background is primarily in game and film pipeline development and production, with a couple of detours into visualization for financial markets, sports, and scientific research. I’ve been an artist, animator, technical director, and an engineer. Though I am relatively new to the Lumberyard team, I have been closely following Lumberyard’s development since its initial release.

My path to joining the Lumberyard team began three years and three jobs ago. I had transitioned out of game development into scientific visualization. The research teams I was working with had gigantic datasets that they wanted to visualize and interact with in real time. I was familiar with resource constraints having been a console game developer since the days of the first PlayStation, but nothing prepared me for trying to visualize 120 gigabyte astrophysics simulations on an iPad using a game engine.

Lumberyard was not the solution at that time. AWS was the solution. Once I discovered how easily I could use AWS to load massive data sets in a game engine and stream directly to any device, I was hooked. I started to look closely at Lumberyard and AWS services because cloud features and Twitch integration were becoming very important to me. My mind was racing with possibilities for games.