[NEW] Lumberyard Dev Diary - #1 Customers Determines Our Yellow Brick Road

Hello Lumbernauts!

Many of you have been asking about Lumberyard development over the years, wondering what the sausage making process is like. After some discussions on how best to do this, we’ve decided to launch a new initiative called Dev Diaries to give our community members a peek behind the curtains and a chance to talk directly with some of our developers.

For the very first post in this series, I would like to introduce Danielle, our Software Developer Manager for the PhysX team! See below for her Dev Diary.

Hi, readers!

My name is Danielle Cheah, and I am a Software Development Manager at Amazon. I work on Amazon Lumberyard in the London (UK) offices, where my team develops physics, White Box Tool, and networking features as well as test automation and “engineering excellence” principles (such as effective internal processes and developer best practices). I’m really proud to be the inaugural writer for this Amazon Lumberyard Dev Diary series.

I’ve been with Amazon Lumberyard for over 3 years and watched it develop into its own unique, flexible tool set for large multimedia and games projects. The Lumberyard London team was formed in 2017 and has grown in scope so significantly since then! (If you’re curious about what we’ve recently worked on, check out our blog post from a month or so back.) Right now, we’re knee-deep in a few new and very exciting unannounced projects, as well as several long term investments such as to improve our ability to perform well and deliver results.

But what I really want to talk to you today is about the Amazon Leadership Principle that is dearest to our hearts: Customer Obsession . Yes, we are obsessed with you: the multimedia, game, or simulation developer — indie, corporate, or somewhere in-between!

Why is that? Well, beyond the corporate leadership angle.