Random Number Streaming

Hi.

Please pardon me for this ignorant question. I’m new to Lumbeyard though I’ve done programming for several years.

I like to continuously stream a random number to my players. So on my server end, I have a random number generated continuously. This number will be streamed to the players who are connected to my game. All the players who are connected will get the same number continuously.

How do I do that? I should have some codes running at the server end right? Do I use the Twitch service? Any pointer is very much appreciated.

Thank you.

Marc

I just lost the answer I wrote you.

You can pass values from server to client by rpc call with arguments.rpc

However you may not need it as you can just share the random seed in a reflected and replicated property both in c++ and lua. If you are interested next you can read why and decide if it is your case.

To resume my full answer you can use a specific pseudorandom number generators instance initialized with a shared seed on every machine.Use this generator for just one synchronized generation purpose. use multiple if you need multiple synchronized random features and an additional one for the general purpose random use.They need to be indipendent as they don’t have to mess with the seed of the other instances.

In some games you may need a generator assigned for every player you may require to init with the same seed or every player can have a different seed too decided on the server and sent to every client or just the affected client depending on the game.

this method makes every generator output the same numbers on every machine with just the initial sharing of seeds.

How frequently do you change the random number?