Trying to use super-complicated Interest Manager system.

Hi,

I am an experienced C++ developer. I need to group the replicas for updates. for example, six different groups and a general group that includes all six previous groups. I know that BitmaskInterestHandleris suitable for this purpose but I’m totally confused. I read the doc, but from incomplete examples and brief explanations, it’s not possible to understand the overall structure. also there is no helpful comment on GridMate sources.

For those who have the same problem, there is a function ( ShouldSendToPeer )in the ReplicaChunkBaseclass that allows you to manage updates on the connected peers at the chunk-level. this function will be called before each update and relies on its returned value. this solved my problem :slight_smile:

(FYI, if you only have a few hundreds of replicas, you don’t really need an Interest Manager. IM is made to deal with 1000s of replicas that are frequently updating. GridMate is optimized to send only changes in replicas. So even if you have thousands of replicas but only a few of them change at any one point, you will not experience any performance issues.)

It sounds like you are using bitmask handlers in IM as map ids and only syncing that particular part of a map or a level. Yeah, that would work. If you look at how I use IM in my sample you should be able to apply the approach but use the existing GridMate::BitmaskInterestHandler.

Are you having issues or challenges with that?

Hi! I’m glad you are looking at Interest Manager in GridMate. :slight_smile:

I’ve written an outside simple object that makes use of IM in a way more simple short sample (than MultiplayerSample that ships with Lumberyard.) You can find it here: https://github.com/Aristo7/LYBook_1.17/tree/ch40_gridmate_large_worlds